Predicting Movie Trends

Between 2000 and 2003 I wrote the original Knightsilver script and along with several other high concepts and treatments mailed them off to various Hollywood producers. All of them liked my work (though they felt intimidated by them) but scoffed at my marketing proposals that accompanied them.

In various correspondences in 2003 I predicted repeatedly:

The supernatural would be popular for the next five years (2003-2008). I proposed vampires, ghosts and the undead would make a major market resurgence.
RESPONSE: “Vampires are tapped out kid. Nobody cares about zombies.”

Superhero movies would now be eligible for the big screen as the special effects they require were now present or on the cinematic horizon.
RESPONSE: “Superheroes are silly.”

By the end of the decade (2010) Biblical movies would see a resurgence. My own work of Noah appears it will be preceded by Darren Aronofsky’s work of the same name.
RESPONSE: “Religion is dead.”

I am not a prophet (maybe a futurist) but you don’t have to be in order to understand the social and psychological arch of a people, especially the American people (your own people). Now, to show how incompetent these men were and remain, I have yet to receive a single phone call from any of those producers I contacted all those years ago saying “Hey, you know what? You were right! How did you know that? What else do you have? What else can you tell me?”

I cannot imagine a more frustrating battle than any film director must endure daily with inept studio executives who are painfully out of touch with the march of human desire. When I endure these minor rejections, I can only imagine what it must be like for James Cameron… maybe his famously hot temper is put to good use in Hollywood.

~ by David Jetre on June 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
